How I’m Turning My Dream Life into Reality

b85fa7ab5577fc838ac4b931537b3e7b.jpg

 

A lot of people could say “Oh must be nice to be you.” or “Aren’t you lucky” when I explain that I love my work. That I don’t have a boss telling me what to do and when to do it. That I can work from home (and by my pool once its summer! – so excited) whenever I choose to. That my work is completely fulfilling. That I travel all the time. That I have an amazing boyfriend and best friends that are perfect. That I am happy and fulfilled every single day. – Yeah, I am lucky. I’m lucky I learned how to create the lifestyle I want. My goal is not to brag or bloat but but to share how I did it so that others can feel the same about their life. Here’s how I did it.

 

Step 1:  Decided to be Different 

“Do what most people won’t, in order to live how most people can’t.”

When I was 19 my life changed. I was introduced to an opportunity that opened my eyes to “how the other half lived.” This opportunity wasn’t popular with my peers but for some celestial reason, I was completely attracted to taking the risk and being different. I heard a quote early on in this journey that hit me hard and that runs through my head to this day. “Do what most people won’t, in order to live like most people can’t.” This made me realize that if you do what everyone else does in your day-by-day life, how could you possibly expect a different outcome than the majority? After acknowledging my complaints and breakdowns about my friends, family, love life, and overall lifestyle – I came to realize that I had a choice to make. A very important choice. I could either: A) shut the door on this opportunity, call it crazy, and move on with my everyday life OR B) open my mind to something different that wasn’t popular or encouraged by friends and family, but that felt right in my soul and see what could come of it. Needless to say, I chose option B and that single choice has made all the difference.

Step 2: Educated Myself

“Formal education will make you a living; self-education will make you a fortune.”

After I decided that I wanted to change my life and I wanted to be different then the next step was education myself of how. The thing is, we are educated our whole lives right? From preschool up to grad school for some people. We learn all these facts, equations, and stories that may or may not benefit us in real life. Despite learning all of these things, we seldom learn about ourselves. Opinions are forced on us without learning the ability to form our own opinions. Without the opportunity to master our own thoughts, opinions, and feelings. When I say the second step is educating, I mean educating yourself about yourself. Study how to be the best possible version of yourself. The best way to do this is by following and learning from people who have turned their dream life into reality. Take the time to figure out what you want and then learn from people who have what you want. The best motivation speakers I have listened to and that have taught me how to take control of my life and what happens to me are: 

  • Jim Rohn
  • Bob Proctor
  • Will Smith
  • Tony Robbison
  • Eric Thomas

Here are some amazing videos from these speakers:

 

Step 3: Changed Daily Actions & Routines

“You’ll never change your life until you change something you do daily. The secret of your success is found in your daily routine.”

I soon realized that the saying was true. “Nothing changes unless you do.” I could learn all the things I needed to but if I didn’t take action and change my daily routines, then my life would stay the same. Slowly but surely, I changed my surroundings; where I was spending time and who I was spending time with. Unfortunately, it sucks to leave people behind. People who I very much care about. But I had to make a selfish decision and do what was best for me. I started to hang out with people who were teaching me new things everyday versus people who I would hangout with and do the same things with, things that were of no benefit to me. I started noticing what I was eating and my eating habits and slowly chose healthier options instead. I learned how to embrace being alone and how to manage my time wisely instead of looking for peer approval and doing things to fill a void not because I genuinely wanted to. I decided to stop attending college because it didn’t line up with the future I wanted. I changed my job because it wasn’t fulfilling my financial needs. I read self-help books that taught me about the power I held within myself. I started doing yoga consistently. I made a vision board and started visualizing daily. Picturing exactly how I wanted to live my life in the future. I made changes that were necessary in order to follow the path I have always dreamed of. I learned from one of the motivational speakers above that when you put good things into your mind and body, good things come out in the form of what you attract into your life.

You can choose to believe that these things will make good things and opportunities just appear in your life or you can not. But let me tell you. Whether you think you can, or you think you can’t – your right. So might as well think you can, right? Once I made these changes to my life, my life changed. I got opportunities to travel to different countries, I found the career path I was destined for and the opportunity to start a business where I call the shots on how and when I work. I found the love of my life and formed an amazing relationship. My friendships became stronger and more genuine. I moves into a high end apartment complex in a booming city away from home. My life is amazing and consistently improving and I give all the credit to those small daily changes I made a few years ago. So if that isn’t proof enough, then I don’t know what is.

 

Step 4: Staying Grateful and Positive

“Everything is energy. Your thought begins it, your emotion amplifies it, and your action increases the momentum.”

I’m not saying I’m perfect by any means. I get angry over little things. I stress myself out. I fight with the people I love. It’s human to have these emotions and it’s a challenge to overcome these feelings. When I have bad days I notice that my day is more difficult as well. I get stuck in traffic, I spill my coffee, I drop my phone, I hurt myself, etc. I take those things as the universe telling me to cut it out. I found that by taking time at least once a day to really think about all the good things in my life and be grateful for them, it makes all the difference. I try to remind myself every time I feel negative emotions taking over. I remind myself that there is always a silver lining. That my energy attracts my emotions. These small reminders help me stay on track and help me to continue to turn my dream life into reality. You can only be in line with things that have the same energy as you. If you gave a positive energy, positive things will happen and vice versus.

Again, you can think this works or you can think it doesn’t but either way – you are right.

 

Leave a Reply

